Artsy-Fartsy

Just sayin’: If you guys want to be the first to hear about a new post going up, please follow my blog! You can either follow via WordPress, or you can get an email every time a new post is live. Just scroll to the bottom of the page and look for the “Follow My Blog!” link-a-roo!

Artsy-Fartsy. That phrase always makes me think of Aunt Fanny from the movie Robots.


“That’s my Aunt Fanny. She’s a little artsy-fartsy. The ‘artsy’ part is okay, but when she gets fartsy…”.

We’ve collected different pieces of art for a while now. Sadly, in a one-bedroom apartment, there’s only so many walls you can hang things on. Most of the photos or art that we ever bought went into a folder that we kept behind a bookcase to keep everything nice n’ flat. Once we got into the house, it didn’t take us long to be “those people” completely filling our carts at IKEA with picture frames so that we could finally display so much of our collection. Truth be told, we still have a lot of things we haven’t hung yet, but we’re on our way!

Please note two things for this entry:
1) “Art” to me can mean anything from a print of a painting, to a photograph by a pro photographer, to a snapshot taken with a webcam. Art is what you make it.

2) The photos that I took for this entry are Crappy with a capital “C”. I never realized how difficult it is to take pictures of things that are already in their frames without getting such a severe glare.

First, let’s start with some of the art we have in our entryway. When you first walk into the house and hang up your coat, we wanted something to look at immediately.


This is one of my favorite photographs of all time, taken by one of the best people I know. Ed Kirkpatrick is an amazingly talented guy, and a good friend of ours. He and his wife Marti are both fantastic people. Ed is known for taking breathtaking landscapes, pinhole camera pictures, and beautiful panoramic shots. This picture he took of Trotter’s Church in ND takes my breath away every time I see it.

When you look slightly to your left, you’ll see where we hang our keys. Since “keys = home” to us, and “Baltimore = home”, we decided to make this our Baltimore Wall.


Our classy Baltimore Hon was a housewarming gift from a friend…and she’s fabulous.


My good friend and (soon-to-be-ex) co-worker Donald Ely essentially gave us this print of his art as a housewarming gift. (I chose which I wanted.) I’ve always loved John Waters. Coming to Baltimore made that love grow tenfold and made me appreciate his movies that much more. I’ve seen him in the flesh several times, just walking around B-more, and I still get star-struck each time. (Note: He HATES when people get star-struck over him. Oof.)

Going upstairs, my goal is to have our stairwell hallway filled floor-to-ceiling with pictures in frames. We have a good start going with about 15 frames right now, but here are some of my favorites.

In the upstairs hallway, there are only two pictures right now, but because they’re both pretty important, we wanted them to stand out.


First, there’s a photo collage of my friend, Scott Kirkpatrick. Scott was a Sgt. in the Army who was sadly killed in Iraq on August 11, 2007. He was a close friend, and I miss him more than words can say. If you have the time, read this article that Details Magazine wrote about him. Scott’s father is Ed Kirkpatrick, who took the Trotter’s Church photo I showed earlier.

To the right of Scott’s picture, we have a collage of one of the greatest moments of my life.

Pretty much from the moment you meet me, you’ll learn that I have a “thing” for Slash from Guns n’ Roses. In October 2010, I was ridiculously lucky enough to win a trip through My Space (I know, right??) to fly to Seattle to meet & interview the man himself. It was…indescribable. The whole trip was amazing.

There was that time I caught a fish at Pike Place Market.

It happened that I met the man himself.

There were moments of uncomfortable laughter.

And times where I looked like I was trying not to puke from being nervous.

Times when the full dork that I am came out in full view.

And times of complete and utter happiness & jubilation.

If you want to watch the whole she-bang, check it out here.

So yes. The collage I made has my plane ticket to Seattle, the VIP backstage passes that Timm & I wore, the one pro-photograph taken of Slash & I, a whole mess of his guitar picks, the setlist from that night’s show, the documents preparing me for the trip, and a list of my interview questions. Time of my LIFE.

Last, but certainly not least, we travel to Timm’s office (post on that room coming soon…) to see one of his most awesome pieces of art.

Our good friend, Alicia worked on the set of the movie Species II. As a “souvenir”, she took home two of the original set-design sketches from the movie. As a birthday gift to Timm, she gave them to him. He loves them, and they go SO perfectly in his office.

I’m pretty proud to say that I think our art says so much about what kind of people we are and what we’re into. It may look weird to most people, but it’s US. I kind of love it all.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment