The room with the toilet

I never quite know what to call a bathroom that has no bathtub. Yes, I guess I technically still call it a “bathroom”, but if you took a bath in a room that just has a toilet and a sink, you’d have to be very small to fit yourself into said sink to take a bath. “Powder room” sounds so formal, since nine times out of ten, no powder is involved in that room. “Restroom”? Nah. I’ll just call it the bathroom.

But I digress.

Strangely, our half-bathroom is simultaneously the most finished room, the one that still needs a lot of work, and the smallest room in the house. I have to admit that I can take next-to-no credit for the entire room. The first week that we owned the house, we were still technically living in the apartment. Timm took off of work to start house-stuff immediately, and the bathroom was one of his first big projects.

We walked in to peel-n-stick vinyl flooring (that was peeling up on the edges), a toilet that the word “gross” couldn’t even be used to describe, a HUGE vanity that took up most of the usable space, and a general “blah” feeling to the room. But now…

I love our little Powdery Resty Half Bathroom! After giving the all-white walls a fresh coat of Behr’s Sea Life, the next things tackled were the sink and toilet. Timm did these all on his own!! I was so proud of my lil handyman. If you told me I needed to change out a toilet or sink (or anything to do with plumbing), I’d probably give the Team America Distress Signal.

He handled it like a champ, though.


The best part was how shockingly cheap this part of the project was! The dual-flush, water-saving toilet by Glacier Bay was a mere $98 from Home Depot, and our space-saving vanity was only $129 on sale from Lowes. There’s SO much more room in our little room now.

Oh, and just in case guests aren’t familiar with a dual-flush toilet…

Yep.


Stepping back a bit, this is the lady and gentleman that welcome you into our bathroom. Of all the things we’ve given names to in our home so far, we haven’t named these two yet. I feel like they need to be something fancy, like Esmarelda and Frederick. Yes…Esmarelda & Frederick were only 50Β’ each from Goodwill. Cha-ching, again.

Here are some detail shots for other goodies in the room.


But wait…what is that in the mirror’s reflection??

Squeeeeeeeee! Our octopus decal is pretty much one of the best things in our house. He takes up nearly the entire wall on one side. While he was a bit of a chore to actually get on the wall (picture the largest sticker you’ve ever seen with tons of little details and holes), he was entirely worth it. We kinda sorta love him.

The big thing we have left to do in the bathroom is to replace the dingy, peeling floor.

Let’s hope it’s not too difficult.

At first we thought we wanted to replace the ceiling, but I think the bubbly texture of it is growing on me.

I like to think of it as the bubbles that our octopus friend is blowing while he’s underwater, swimming towards his magical castle under the sea.

…wait. What?

Tagged , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “The room with the toilet

  1. stacia says:

    i was waiting for more on this room πŸ™‚

    loved the octopi guy from the first time timm shared a photo, and i think this room came together wonderfully!

  2. This is fucking awesome. I want to take a numero dos in your toilet.

  3. Leesha says:

    I seriously LOVE the idea of having those two silhouettes on (I’m assuming) the door.. How easy to explain to guests where the bathroom is and it’s so cute!!

    Also, in my kitchen I have a wall decal that’s a coffee cup, and is made of a bunch of stickers spelling out “coffee” to make the shape. It’s only like a foot and a half wide/tall, and it was a HUGE bitch to put up, I can’t even imagine that octopus!

    • YES! I remember talking to you about that decal when you had posted something about it. I LOVED your decal. The octopus SUCKED to put up, but I’m so in love with it now.

      Thank you, chica!
      xoxo

  4. Phyrra says:

    Cute powder room πŸ™‚ I love the wall color and the decals are awesome πŸ™‚

  5. PurplPixy says:

    I love ur choice of colors! So vibrant! Ur thekind embeds me of Moby Dick. So nautical and Victorian. And I’m absolutely in LOVE with ur mirror! Where’d u get it?

  6. Marti says:

    not sure if I should mention this, but I believe it’s a squid….note the beak not a rounded head.

    I do think Esmarelda & Frederick are perfect names. Oh and you could take a page from our friends across the pond and just call the room the toilet.

  7. Claire says:

    sooooo coooool!

  8. Kathy H says:

    …or there’s the good ole European term “Water closet,” which uou can shorten to “WC” to further confuse people πŸ™‚
    Loo is good though, I like that one.

    I think this room looks great, love the tentacle theme!

  9. Ed says:

    I like “the Loo” too… WC has too many syllables for two letters. I must note that the floor would have been easier before the new commode went in, but Timm did a fabulous job and it looks great. now please do not put a basket of magazines right next to the bowl… we all know what they get splattered with…

    • Splattered-schmattered. I firmly believe that everyone should have the option of something to read while they “rest”. For our guests, we provide the Zombie Survival Guide. You never know when you might need it…

      xoxo

    • the timm says:

      the commode will sadly come out before I do the floor which is why its not caulked. I’m just unsure of whether Im gutting that old floor out first or not. Hence the procrastination.

  10. Corinne says:

    My dear, I know you’ve told me before where you got your awesome wall decal, but would you mind telling me again? I’ve repainted my bathroom and am dying to find just the right decal to go on the giant, long wall in there since it’s too skinny of a room to put in any cabinets!

Leave a comment